Soynog French Toast

One of the best parts of the beginning of the (vegan) holiday season is… soynog. As soon as the weather turns chilly, I start checking for it. Right before Halloween, I’m searching the grocery stores for soynog. Of course, it doesn’t usually turn up around these parts till mid-November, but I’m still eager for it nonetheless. Every year, I always wish I had a huge freezer to store a massive supply of soynog in to last me for months (really, it’s that good).

 

There are a few brands out there, and some new ones this year too. I’ve managed to find Silk nog so far (which is my favorite), but I can’t wait to try the new So-Delicious coconut-milk version (which you could use for this recipe if you don’t use soy). I love nog chilled and topped with nutmeg, or steamed and mixed with chai tea or espresso, or used to make this amazing cheesecake. But for the last few mornings I’ve been craving a noggy french toast.

Soynog French Toast

1 French baguette, sliced into 12 – 1 inch slices
3/4 cup vegan eggnog (I used Silk nog)
1 very ripe banana
2 Tablespoons organic cornstarch
1 Tablespoon pure maple syrup
1 Tablespoon organic canola oil
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (I love Trader Joe’s brand)
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
dash of salt (optional)

1-2 Tablespoons of organic canola oil, or cooking spray, to coat the pan for frying the french toast.

Preheat a nonstick skillet to medium-high heat. In a mixing bowl, mash the banana with a fork until it’s smooth and creamy. Add all of the other ingredients, and whisk until combined. Soak a few baguette slices (2-3 at a time) in the nog batter for about a minute (make sure both sides are soaked, but don’t allow to get too mushy or soggy). Pour a little canola oil into the preheated skillet. Place the slices into the pan, and fry 2-3 minutes per side (until sides are browned nicely). Repeat until all slices are cooked.

Serve warm with fresh fruit, vegan butter, cinnamon-sugar, and pure maple syrup – and a tall glass of frosty soynog!

This recipe would be perfect to make for Thanksgiving or Christmas brunch, or any weekend morning. It’s warm, comforting, festive and delicious. It would go great alongside smokey maple tempeh bacon (which I wish I had when I made this). I hope you like it!

3 thoughts on “Soynog French Toast

Leave a Reply

